It's the 4th of July. There's no parade for us. No cub scout event - no backyard BBQ, no picnic. What does the 4th of July mean as a tourist? It means a FANTASTIC day for museums. Going to big city attractions on a holiday is definitely the way to go. We were in New York for Thanksgiving day and toured both the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with minimal crowds. In Seattle for the 4th meant the same thing - few crowds at the big tourist attractions. If you are willing to give up the tradition of parade/BBQ/hometown celebration, taking advantage of sightseeing on a holiday is a MUST.
We started with the Science Museum - and with super kid-friendly exhibits (I believe they were all kid-centered) plus the bonus of no crowds - it made for a great museum day for the family. We have been extremely lucky this trip - the whole family is enjoying all of the museums that are included in our City Pass. Could be that the museums are really well done. Could be that my kids are just museum type kids. Could be a mixture of both. But we certainly struck gold with the Seattle Science Museum. Another bonus? It's across the street from our hotel. We spend a few hours exploring part of the museum - hands on, interactive, dinosaurs, biology, chemistry and physics. Lots of physics. Our tickets include a choice of IMAX movies and the kids all agree on "Call of the Wild." Ordinarily, I don't care for the 3D versions of movies (ever since watching Captain EO at Disneyland) and I especially don't care for the added cost of these movies, but the ticket was included, so I sat back and tried to enjoy. It's a wonderful movie (even more wonderful, I suppose, if the 4 year old behind you actually shut up for any of it - and the parents didn't even try to quiet her. SOOO annoying) A great story about caring for animals. The theme song to the movie was one of the 6th grade songs at Julia's promotion, so we all hummed along.
After the movie, we grabbed some sandwiches and headed back to the hotel for a lunch on the patio. After some much needed food, and a little down time, I take the kids back to the museum while Brian naps/suffers through his head cold. There is an exhibit on "Fear" and of course the boys head straight for it. It's an interactive exhibit on the body's reaction to fear - pretty cool overall. One attraction simulated the fear of falling - and included a contraption that you were strapped down to. The kids tried it multiple times (due to the lack of lines and crowds!) We end our tour of the museum in another hands on exhibit - lots of physics demonstrations. The kids are in heaven. There is one hands on that measures upper body strength and muscle endurance. On the posted chart there is listed how long an average person can hang in a chin-up. For instance: Age 6-8 male = 18 seconds. Age 9-13 female = 21 seconds. Age 40+ male and female? "Not Recommended." I kid you not. I guess muscle endurance expires after age 39. After that blow to the fragile 40 year old ego, I'm ready to leave. Also, it's closing time for the museum. We have been there all day and still didn't get to every exhibit hall. And the kids don't want to leave. Successful day!
The City Pass (I know, I'm beginning to sound like a City Pass commercial) allows for not one but two! trips up to the top of the Space Needle in a 24 hour period. This means that Brian and I can go up and see the view from the top. Brian meets us at the base, and we walk through the Disneyland ropes all the way to the entrance (because it's a holiday! and there is hardly anyone around!) We head up the elevator and get the spectacular view from the top. I may mention now that it hasn't rained once on this leg of our Seattle journey. The weather has been gorgeous - warm but not too hot. It's at the top where I have a (probably my final) cup of Pike's Place original coffee. You can only get it here - and the original store down at Pike's Place Market. It's still bad. I'm sorry. I tried to like Starbucks in Seattle. I just couldn't do it. I can't even finish it - and give the rest to Aidan. He doesn't like it either.
It's while in line for my Starbucks that I have a close encounter with a group of Lions. As in Lions Club International. As in the biggest convention Seattle's had in years. And they are throwing a parade - the biggest parade Seattle has EVER had - tomorrow, July 5. The day we are leaving town. But more about that later. This particular group is from India - I know this because they are all sporting (in addition to some beautiful saris) the snappy Lions Club nametags and pins. They are not quite understanding the concept of ordering coffee at an American Starbucks. There is much confusion. The men all try to (loudly) take charge of the situation. The women stand back with a calm demeanor and let the men make a potentially common and easy situation all the more confusing and difficult. You can *almost* see their eyes rolling. It's hysterical. I smile and walk away with my horrible cup of coffee. It will be the last Starbucks coffee I ever drink. (I will, however, eat their oatmeal. It's super yummy.)
After capturing a few shots of the city from the outside deck - and confirming that the "Seattle Grace" building is actually the TV station building below us - we head back down the elevators and back to the hotel. It's probably 7:30ish and we still need to eat and make our way to fireworks. (I try, unsuccessfully, to persuade everyone to stay in and watch the fireworks on TV. No dice.) We eat at Dick's, a burger place like In'n'Out. Maybe if you took an In'n'Out meal and dipped it in grease.
Seattle firework viewing is done at Gasworks Park on the banks of Lake Union. We choose to view on the other side of the lake - closer to the hotel, but still about a mile walk away. It's a lovely night and the walk isn't bad at all. We arrive and park ourselves at the first available patch of grass on the edge of the marina, next to the street. The bar across the street has its windows open and they are playing some dance tunes so the atmosphere is festive. We find ourselves surrounded by lots of tourists (and more Lion Club members!) as we wait the hour until the fireworks start. Everyone is sitting on blankets, a few have brought chairs. Then the last minute yahoos come and stand on the sidewalks, thereby necessitating that EVERYONE else must stand in order to see the fireworks in the distance. Ugh. Stupid latecomers ruined it for everyone. If everyone had just sat down, we'd all be able to see just fine. Ed winds up on Colin's shoulders - Julia winds up on Aidan's: a very minor perk of having 2 strong teenage sons? You no longer have to carry your younger children. The fireworks are nice (WAAAYYYY better than Canada day) and the second they are over, we hightail it out of there and beat the crowds (thanks to my strategic planning when we arrived - and the ability to turn a deaf ear to the pleas of "can't we sit closer?")
No comments:
Post a Comment